jnrmatter.blogg.se

Golden farms market weekly specials
Golden farms market weekly specials








golden farms market weekly specials

in Esparto – sources 70% to 80% of its product either from the farm or from other farms within the Capay Valley and Yolo County.

golden farms market weekly specials

There’s no way I could do both and run both unilaterally without them being close.”

golden farms market weekly specials

“I’m very lucky to be able to be this close to the ranch within the vicinity of my business. “There is no Lucy’s without the farm,” he stressed. It definitely played a huge part in my everyday dynamic as a human being, even more so as an adult.”Īdditionally, Gordon opened Lucy’s Cafe & Farm Pantry during the COVID-19 pandemic in honor of his grandmother. “I grew up on the ranch myself, I got to experience grandpa in his prime and I am very thankful for that. “I’m Ramon and Lucy’s oldest grandson,” Gordon explained. Gordon took over the operation of the farm roughly four years ago after his grandfather passed and continues to grow almonds and other rotating crops including squash and citrus. Stephen Gordon at Cadena Farms in Esparto. “He fell in love with the area and decided he wanted to make it his home.” “He had a contract to come harvest almonds up the Capay Valley,” Gordon said. Gordon explained that Ramon came to the United States in 1950 through the Bracero Program – a program that permitted millions of Mexican men to work legally in the United States on short-term labor contracts during World War II. It was one of the last few conversations that we ever had and it’s important to me.” “I’m more proud about that than anything. “That was the biggest promise I made to my grandpa… and I think I marked that block off my list,” Gordon emphasized. Gordon said he promised his grandfather before passing that the farm would stay active no matter what. Otherwise, what was it all really for.” Ramon and Lucy Cadena at the Davis Farmers Market around 1979, according to Stephen Gordon. “My grandfather came here in the 50s to start a life and I feel it’s irresponsible for us to not try to live up to that work that took to get here. “For me, the biggest thing is legacy,” Gordon emphasized. Fifty years after Ramon and Lucy Cadena purchased their farm, their grandson Stephen Gordon strives to uphold their legacy by taking over operations and feeding Capay Valley residents.










Golden farms market weekly specials